Edition 2017

The 2017 edition of the atlas has been completely restructured and revised.

What’s new?

An overview of the most important highlights:

1.

Adapted to the curriculum

The new Swiss World Atlas has been adapted to the language-region-specific curricula for secondary schools and the framework curriculum of the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK) for secondary schools. The skills-oriented perspective required for these curricula is apparent even in the new introduction chapter (pages 22–23). The atlas promotes interdisciplinary, joined-up thinking, supports problem-oriented teaching, and makes a vital contribution to education for sustainable development.

2.

New introductory chapter

The completely revised introductory chapter of the Swiss World Atlas sets out the principles of spatial geoinformation and cartography, explains the different types of maps, and encourages a skills-oriented approach to map work.

3.

New economic maps

For the economic maps, the economic power of global urban centres has been calculated and illustrated using a proportionally-sized circle symbol. The most important raw material extraction sites and the intensity of agricultural use (arable land, pastures, etc.) are also shown. Finally, the new economic map of Switzerland includes a more detailed breakdown by economic sector.

4.

New design and navigation aids

The Swiss World Atlas has been updated with a new, contemporary design. Map formats have been standardised and the layout has been made more appealing. The atlas has been supplemented with a clear contents page and topic list, as well as a comprehensive name and subject index. The 256-page book is rounded out with an attractively designed country overview, complete with national flags. The Swiss World Atlas has also been updated with handy navigation aids like side tabs and a fold-out general key, providing a clear overview of the atlas’ content while making it easy to use.

5.

Topical issues

Many maps deal with topical issues such as the environment, energy, natural hazards and conflicts. The atlas’ traditional relief maps have been supplemented with high-resolution satellite images of typical landscapes. New, descriptive infographics, profiles and points of view have also been included on certain complex geographical issues.

6.

Proven Content

Featuring over 400 maps and images, the Swiss World Atlas offers a global picture of our Earth. Uniform overview maps on the topography, political structure and economic status of countries, major regions and continents allow users to compare different geographical areas with ease. The atlas also allows readers to create mental connections between different aspects of various topics. Finally, this comprehensive overall view of the world is rounded out by themed maps on climate, geology and population density.

7.

Exemplary approach

Using large-scale, detailed maps of specific regions and cities, the atlas adopts an exemplary approach in highlighting specific geographical situations, phenomena and processes.

8.

Standardised format

The maps – and especially the city maps and various themed maps – have all been updated with a more uniform content and design, allowing for easy map comparisons.

9.

Interactive tools and additional materials

The newly designed website contains a catalogue of all of the maps in the Swiss World Atlas, plus additional materials, map commentaries and didactic notes. The website also includes new integrated tools offering an interactive insight into special topics like the shape of the Earth.

Facts and figures

Formats

There are six uniformed  map formats which are used for 90% of the Atlas’ maps. The rest of the maps uses special formats. The most used format is the half-page format which is used for 114 maps.

Dimensions

If you were to cut out all of the pages of the Swiss World Atlas and lay them side-by-side, they would cover the area of an average parking space (approx. 10 sqm).

Collection

In the German edition of the atlas, the names index contains 19,166 entries. In the French edition of the atlas, the index contains 19,200 entries, while the Italian edition contains 19,213. 15,600 entries are identical in all three languages.

Superlative

The longest word in the atlas has 58 letters and is the name of a village in Wales: «Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndro
bwllllantysiliogogogoch
».

Shortest words in the Swiss World Atlas are two letters long and include «Aa», «Bo», «K2», «Ka», «Ob», «Po» und «Re».

Tail light

The lastly developed map is the depiction of stellar constellations.

Favourites

The most used map in the Swiss World Atlas interactive is the overview map of the world with 6423 accesses since 2013.

Proper name

The word «Atlas» itself is being used 15 times in the Atlas.

Édition 2017

Le contenu de l’édition 2017 de l’Atlas Mondial Suisse a été entièrement restructuré et révisé.

Qu’est ce qui est nouveau?

Les points importants en vue d’ensemble:

1.

Conformité aux plans d’études

Le nouvel Atlas Mondial Suisse a été conçu sur la base du plan d’études 21 applicable dans l’enseignement secondaire et du plan d’études cadre de la Conférence suisse des directeurs cantonaux de l’instruction publique (CDIP) pour les écoles de culture générale. Sa perspective pédagogique d’acquisition de compétences, telles que le repérage dans l’espace, se manifeste dès la nouvelle partie introductive (pages 22–23). L’atlas favorise une réflexion interdisciplinaire et holistique. Dans le cadre du cours, il aide à répondre à une problématique et il promeut l’éducation au développement durable.

2.

Nouvelle partie introductive

La nouvelle partie introductive de l‘Atlas Mondial Suisse présente les bases fondamentales de la topologie et de la cartographie. Elle explique les différences entre les types de cartes et présente les diverses manières d’analyser les cartes en vue d’acquérir des compétences.

3.

Nouvelles cartes économiques

Pour les cartes économiques, la puissance économique de tous les centres urbains du monde a été calculée et représentée au moyen de cercles proportionnels. En outre, elles affichent les principales zones d’extraction de matières premières et l’intensité de l’exploitation agricole (champs, pâturages). La nouvelle carte économique de la Suisse contient également une répartition détaillée par branche.

4.

Nouvelle présentation et aides à la navigation

L‘Atlas Mondial Suisse a une nouvelle présentation qui est plus actuelle. Le formatage des cartes a été uniformisé et la mise en page aérée. L’Atlas contient également une table des matières et un registre synoptiques ainsi qu’un index thématique et un index des toponymes complets. Un aperçu de tous les pays avec leur drapeau complète ce livre de 256 pages. L’Atlas Mondial Suisse a en outre été enrichi avec de nouvelles aides utiles à la navigation, telles qu’un répertoire ou une légende générale dépliable, pour donner un aperçu de tout le contenu et faciliter son utilisation.

5.

Thèmes actuels

De nombreuses cartes traitent des thèmes actuels de l’environnement, de l’énergie, des dangers naturels, des conflits, etc. Les cartes classiques en relief sont complétées par des images satellites haute résolution représentant des paysages caractéristiques. Les faits géographiques spécifiques et complexes sont représentés par des graphiques nouveaux et démonstratifs, tels que des profils ou des perspectives.

6.

Contenu complet

Avec plus de 400 cartes et projections, l‘Atlas Mondial Suisse donne une vue complète de notre terre. Qu’elles soient topographiques, politiques ou économiques, ses cartes synoptiques au format uniformisé permettent de comparer aisément les divers espaces géographiques des pays, des grandes régions et des continents. De plus, il permet de traiter certains thèmes de manière transversale en mettant en relation leurs différents aspects selon des critères pertinents. Les cartes thématiques sur le climat, la géologie ou la densité de population fournissent des informations plus détaillées qui renforcent le caractère complet de ce nouvel atlas.

7.

Approche représentative

Les cartes détaillées et à grande échelle des régions ou des villes démontrent que l’atlas suit une approche représentative pour montrer également des situations, phénomènes ou processus géographiques spécifiques.

8.

Uniformisation

Les cartes, et en particulier les plans de ville et diverses cartes thématiques, ont été uniformisés au niveau de la forme et du contenu, ce qui facilite les comparaisons.

9.

Outils interactifs et documents supplémentaires

Le nouveau site Internet est composé pour l’essentiel de toutes les cartes de l‘Atlas Mondial Suisse. Il reprend également ses documents supplémentaires, tels que les commentaires sur les cartes ou les explications didactiques. Il contient de nouveaux outils qui permettent de traiter certains thèmes de manière interactive, p. ex. la rotondité de la terre.

Chiffres et faits

Formats

Il y a six formats de cartes uniformes, celles-ci sont utilisées jusqu’à 90% dans l’Atlas. Le reste correspond à différents formats spéciaux. Le format le plus utilisé avec 114 cartes est celui de la demi-page.

Dimensions

Surface: si on découpait chaque page de l’Atlas Mondial Suisse et si on les disposait les unes à côté des autres, on recouvrirait la surface d’un parking de véhicules de tourisme (env. 10 m²).

Interactif

Depuis le début de l’Atlas Mondial Suisse interactif en 2013, il y a eu 38’734 cliques (au 31.03.2017). En moyenne, il y a eu 922 cliques par mois.

Superlatif

Le mot le plus long de l’atlas a 58 caractères et désigne un lieu au Pays de Galles: «Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndro
bwllllantysiliogogogoch
».

Les mots les plus courts ne comportent que deux caractères: «Aa», «Bo», «K2», «Ka», «Ob», «Po» et «Re».

Finitions

La dernière carte produite imprimée est la ‹‹Besondere Sternenkonstellationen››.

Favoris

La carte dans l’Atlas Mondial Suisse interactif la plus souvent ouverte est «Terre, vue d’ensemble» avec 6423 cliques depuis 2013. Suivi par «Terre, Relief».

Le nom propre

Le mot ‹‹Atlas›› revient dans le livre 15 fois (sept fois dans la partie des cartes, huit fois dans la partie introductive.)

Collection

Le lexique en allemand contient un total de 19’166 entrées. Dans ceux en français et en italien, ils sont respectivement au nombre de 19’200 et 19’213 entrées. 15’600 entrées sont identiques dans les trois langues.