The SWISS WORLD ATLAS interactive is the web-based complement to the the traditional printed edition. The interactive atlas should further increase the attractiveness of the printed version allowing new and innovative ways of utilisation.


The interactive atlas is developed at the Institute of Cartography and Geoinformation of the ETH Zurich. The purpose of the project team is to regard the specifics of the SWA, the expectations of teachers just as current trends and ideas about modern geography lessons, sustainability and feasibility.

an easy to use map search and immediate display of maps
an efficient navigation between different maps and themes
a straightforward switch between 2D and 3D map view
a manageable complexity of the maps
the ability to print and export individually composed maps
necessary support for the interpretation of the maps by means of supplementary information

Slideshow of atlas-screenshots

Content and functionality

The high cartographic quality of the printed atlas is sustained in the webatlas provided with an easily operable user interface: the well-known general and thematic maps are improved for students, extendend with editorial work and complemented with interactive functions such as zooming, querying objects, layer visibility, saving and exporting map extracts.


2D map

Besides these interactive functions, the SWISS WORLD ATLAS interactive includes virtual globes, dynamical block diagrams and various model representations that encourage the imagination of the students.


3D block diagram and virtual globe


Additional module “Earth in the Solar System”

Version 1

Version 1 of the SWISS WORLD ATLAS interactive is openly accessible. It is easy to launch with the start button on this website and it is free of charge. As the application is web-based there is no local software installation required. In this first version of the atlas a broad variety of maps of the printed atlas is available. New content is continuously implemented.

Videos about the usage of the SWISS WORLD ATLAS interactive

Start of the atlas and map selection

Interactive maps, block diagrams and globes

Basic functions of the atlas

Creating a worksheet

Map comparison and synchronization

VERSION INTERACTIVE

L’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE interactif est un complément en ligne à la traditionelle édition imprimée. L’atlas interactif accroît l’attractivité de l’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE grâce à des fonctions innovantes.

SCHWEIZER WELTATLAS

L’atlas interactif est développé par l’institut de cartographie et géoinformation de l’ETH Zurich. Lors du développement, l’équipe de project prend en compte les particularités de l’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE, les attentes des enseignants ainsi que les tendances et idées actuelles de l’enseignement moderne de la géographie, de la durabilité et de la faisabilité.

L’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE interactif propose…
une recherche simple et un affichage rapide des cartes
une navigation efficace entre ses différentes cartes et thèmes
un passage très simple entre les affichages 2D et 3D
un niveau adaptable de la complexité des cartes
la possibilité d’imprimer et d’exporter des extraits de cartes composés par l’utilisateur
une aide importante à l’interprétation de cartes par l’affichage d’informations supplémentaires

Slideshow de screenshot d’atlas

Contenu et fonctionnalité

L’excellente qualité cartographique de l’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE est conservée dans l’atlas interactif avec sa manipulation simple: Les cartes générales et thématiques sont élaborées pour les étudiants, affinées avec du contenu actuel et complétées par des fonctions interactives telles que l’agrandissement et la réduction, l’activation et la désactivation de couches, la recherche d’objects ainsi que l’enregistrement et l’exportation d’extraits de cartes.

Kartenbeispiele

 

Carte 2D

En plus de ces fonctions qui représentent les points forts de l’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE, celui-ci offre des globes virtuels, des bloc diagrammes ainsi que divers modèles qui aident les élèves dans leur capacité de représentation.

Kartenbeispiele

 

Bloc diagramme et globe virtuel 3D

Kartenbeispiele

Module supplémentaire « La terre dans le système solaire »

 

Version 1

La version 1 de l’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE interactif est disponible gratuitement et pour tout public. On peut le démarrer facilement avec le bouton de démarrage sur ce site web. L’application est complètement basée sur le web et il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’installer de logiciel. Dans cette première version, une vaste sélection de cartes de l’atlas imprimé est disponible. Du nouveau contenu est régulièrement mis en ligne.

Vidéos concernant l’utilisation de l’ATLAS MONDIAL SUISSE interactif

Démarrage de l’atlas et choix des cartes


Cartes interactives, blocs-diagrammes et globes


Fonctionnalités basiques de l’atlas


Création d’une feuille de travail


Comparaison entre plusieurs cartes et synchronisation